fbpx

SERVE FINDER

Serve with us. We’re BETTER TOGETHER!

IMMEDIATE NEEDS

Screen_Shot_2019-04-18_at_1.32.08_PM

ONGOING NEEDS

Either Campus

Serve Opportunities

Abounding Love 

Ministry for adults with special needs.

Serve Opportunities: Sunday school (Overland Park) or midweek gathering (both campuses)

Timeframe: Overland Park: Sun morning or Tues evening. South KC: Tues or Wed morning.

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Mindy Loparco, mloparco@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3020

BLUE Project

Praying over, assembling, and delivering BLESS bags to police officers in our city.

Serve Opportunities: write notes, pick up cookies, assemble BLESS bags, deliver bags to officers

Timeframe: First Wednesday of the month at 1pm at either campus

Frequency: Once a month

Contact Info:

Overland Park – Deb Millikan (millikandeb@hotmail.com,  785.819.2827) or KCMO – Ethel Stauffer (816.806.5857, efcstauffer@gmail.com) and Janice Porter (913.634.1197, jporter913@gmail.com)

Colonial Preschool Ministry

Providing preschool education and social skills to children ages 15 months to 5 years old.

Serve Opportunities: Classroom assist, seamstress, bless the teaching staff

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Monthly

Contact Info: Michele Isringhausen, misringhausen@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3952

Communications

Using creative gifts, talents and skills to promote Colonial’s mission and ministries through digital and conventional forms of media including writing, graphic design, illustration, video production and more.

Serve Opportunities: Video assistance, design work, writing/storytelling

Timeframe: M-F during business hours

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Jerry Mosemak, jmosemak@colonialkc.org, 703.509.1232

Facilities Ministry

Helping our facilities remain warm, welcoming, safe places.

Serve Opportunities: Facilities team member, lawn care, general repair/maintenance, Sunday morning maintenance

Timeframe: Varies

Frequency: Monthly or as needs arise

Contact Info: David Borcherding, dborcherding@colonialkc.org, 913.488.5969

Foster Adopt

Supporting children and families who are engaged in Colonial’s Foster Adopt ministry.

Serve Opportunities: Mentor foster kids, serve at a Respite Night, provide respite care, donate goods or services for Foster Adopt families

Timeframe: Varies

Frequency: As needed

Contact Info: Hannah Mabie, hmabie@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3965

Hope and Healing Ministry

Offering love and support for those who are stuck in their walk with God, entrenched in negative behavior patterns, grieving loss, battling difficult life situations, and experiencing hurt from past trauma.

Serve Opportunities: Event coordinator, event volunteer team, group leader or mentor

Timeframe: Varies

Frequency: Weekly, monthly or quarterly

Contact Info: Kim Jones, kjones@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3045

Marriage Ministry

Providing support and encouragement for couples of all ages and stages of married life.

Serve Opportunities: Marriage mentoring, Marriage Foundations leader/co-leader, marriage enrichment activity team

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Varies

Contact Info: Tami Lundgren, tlundgren@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3939

Men’s Ministry

Helping men become the men God designed them to be.

Serve Opportunities: Steering committee, event teams, mentoring

Timeframe: Varies

Frequency: Varies

Contact Info: Bob Lehleithner, blehleitner@colonialkc.org, 816.616.5452

School Partner

Offering encouragement and support to teachers and students in local schools near both of our campuses.

Serve Opportunities: Reading buddy, classroom helper, one-on-one mentor

Timeframe: Weekdays during the school year

Frequency: Weekly or every other week

Contact Info: Meganne Leighton, mleighton@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3004

Senior Living Outreach

Join us as we gather in God’s love to sing, study, worship, and fellowship with residents at local senior living communities.

Serve Opportunities: Lead or participate in hymn sing/worship service/Bible study, fellowship with residents, transport Colonial Village residents to church

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Once a week, once a month, or once a year

Contact Info: Betsy Vicknair, bvicknair@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3038

Sermon Research Assistant

Assist Pastor Jim (and/or other preaching pastors) with research, resources, quotes and insights for sermon preparation.

Serve Opportunities: submit research on sermon text, preview pastor’s manuscript and provide feedback

Timeframe: During the week

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Jim West, jwest@colonialkc.org

Women’s Ministry

Helping women be the Light of Christ.

Serve Opportunities: mentoring program, small group leader, event planning

Timeframe: Varies

Frequency: Varies

Contact Info: Mary Brown, mbrown@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3002

South KC Campus

Serve Opportunities

Administration

Supporting ministry programs of the church by helping accomplish administrative tasks.

Serve Opportunities: Prep mailings, proof reading publications, miscellaneous administrative tasks

Timeframe: M-F during business hours

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Stephanie Neiger, sneiger@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3640

Colonial Care Teams

Our volunteer led Care Teams offer hope, support, and encouragement through meaningful expressions of Christian love in Jesus’ name.

Serve Opportunities: write notes, visit homebound, make meals, run errands, do yard work, deliver bouquets

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Once a week, once a month, or once a year

Contact Info: Betsy Vicknairbvicknair@colonialkc.org; 816.501.3038

Colonial Kids

Supporting parents and families in their kids’ spiritual growth from birth to fifth grade.

Serve Opportunities: Sunday school ministry partner, Power and Light mentor, Wednesday night mentor, special event volunteer

Timeframe: Sunday mornings and some evening or weekend events

Frequency: Weekly, monthly, or quarterly

Contact Info: Kami Minor, kminor@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3044

Communion Team

Assisting in worship by serving communion to the congregation once a month.

Serve Opportunities: Set up/ prepare elements, serve communion (members only), clean up the trays and cups

Timeframe: Sunday mornings

Frequency: First Sunday of the month

Contact Info: Meredith Shields, mas6596@yahoo.com, 913.707.8552

Food Pantry

Our volunteer-led emergency food pantry provides groceries for over 230 families in need each month.

Serve Opportunities: Pick up food from local grocery stores, pack grocery bags, greet and pray with pantry neighbors

Timeframe: Tues or Thurs 10:30 am-1:30 pm

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Meganne Leighton, mleighton@colonialkc.org; 816.501.3004

Harvesters Mobile Food Distribution

Every month 50 volunteers assist with the distribution line of fresh food and produce delivered by Harvesters.

Serve Opportunities: Greet guests, set up/tear down, load food

Timeframe: 8-10:30 am

Frequency: Third Saturday of the month

Contact Info: Jim Anderson, mjanderskc@gmail.com, 913.461.4350

Hospitality Team

Welcoming our guests and providing hospitality for everyone who attends on Sunday mornings.

Serve Opportunities: Greeter, Welcome Desk, parking lot monitor

Timeframe: Sunday mornings

Frequency: Weekly, bi-weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Donna Hurst, donnahursti8053@gmail.com, 816.739.1073

Impact Center Schools

Working to end student homelessness in the Center School District through a one-stop-shop mobile office resource center.

Serve Opportunities: Impact Day assistance, prayer support, pre-launch prep

Timeframe: First and Third Thursdays during school year

Frequency: Every-other week or once a month

Contact Info: Mark Potter, mpotter@colonialkc.org, 913.220.0472

Prayer Ministry

This vital ministry offers pathways for you to pray for others inside and outside of the church.

Serve Opportunities: Join one of our prayer teams, make phone calls, write notes

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Once a week, once a month, or once a year

Contact Info: Betsy Vicknair, bvicknair@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3038

Student Ministry

Relational ministry to 6th-12th grade students including weekly gatherings, serving opportunities, retreats, camps, and mission trips.

Serve Opportunities: Grow group leaders, Sunday morning teachers/mentors, drivers to transport neighborhood youth

Timeframe: Sunday mornings, Wednesday nights, or special events

Frequency: weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Alex Dressman Gulick, adressmangulick@colonialkc.org, 816.824.3127

Wornall Wednesdays Food/Kitchen Team

Serve Opportunities: Cook and prepare food, set up and clean up dinner, collect money

Timeframe: Wednesday afternoon/evening

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Steve Walton, sfwalton1106@gmail.com, 816.718.4311

Worship and Arts

Opportunities for the congregation and community to share their musical and artistic gifts that support worship services and events throughout the year.

Serve Opportunities: Choir member, orchestra member, technical team

Timeframe: Midweek rehearsals and Sun morning worship

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Jeff Martin, jmartin@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3068

Overland Park Campus

Serve Opportunities

Colonial Care Teams

Our volunteer led Care Teams offer hope, support, and encouragement through meaningful expressions of Christian love in Jesus’ name.

Serve Opportunities: write notes, visit homebound, make meals, run errands, do yard work, deliver bouquets

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Once a week, once a month, or once a year

Contact Info: Martha Madderom, mmadderom@colonialkc.org, 913.449.9813

Colonial Kids

Supporting parents and families in their kids’ spiritual growth from birth to fifth grade.

Serve Opportunities: Nursery helper, Sunday school teacher/ story teller, special events team, parent advisory team, teen helper

Timeframe: Sunday mornings or during special events

Frequency: Weekly, bi-weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Glenn Menke, gmenke@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3963

Communion Team

Assisting in worship by serving communion to the congregation once a month.

Serve Opportunities: Set up/ prepare elements, serve communion (members only), clean up the trays and cups

Timeframe: Sunday mornings

Frequency: First Sunday of the month

Contact Info: Chrissy Carr, jayhawkskc@yahoo.com, 913.488.7660

God’s Community Garden

Volunteers plant and harvest over 15,000 lbs. of produce which is given to food pantries at Colonial and Mission Southside.

Serve Opportunities: Garden prep, planting, tending, harvesting, and delivery

Timeframe: Varies

Frequency: Seasonal

Contact Info: Julie Foster, jmfoster74@gmail.com, 913.424.2967

Hospitality Team

From entrance to exit, we create an environment where our hospitality demonstrates the light of Christ and draws people in.

Serve Opportunities: Parking lot team, greeters, ushers, Welcome Center, Fellowship Hall

Timeframe: Sunday mornings

Frequency: Monthly, quarterly, or flexible

Contact Info: Georgianne Roberts, groberts@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3911

Prayer Ministry

This vital ministry offers pathways for you to pray for others inside and outside of the church.

Serve Opportunities: Join one of our prayer teams, make phone calls, write notes

Timeframe: Flexible

Frequency: Once a week, once a month, or once a year

Contact Info: Martha Madderom, mmadderom@colonialkc.org, 913.449.9813

Student Ministry

Relational ministry to 6th-12th grade students including weekly gatherings, serving opportunities, retreats, camps, and mission trips.

Serve Opportunities: Small group leaders, hospitality team, special events

Timeframe: Sunday mornings, Wednesday nights, or special events

Frequency: weekly or monthly

Contact Info: Becca Gallion, bgallion@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3924

Worship and Arts Music Ministry

Using our musical gifts to lead the congregation in worship and share the gospel through song.

Serve Opportunities: Worship band, praise team, children’s choir

Timeframe: Midweek rehearsals, Sunday morning worship

Frequency: Weekly or monthly

Leader Name: Paulo Barros

Contact Info: Georgann Ellis, gellis@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3958

Worship and Arts Tech Ministry

The ongoing tech teams assist with multimedia projection, audio visual support, recording, and more.

Serve Opportunities: Computer tech (graphics), video tech (video director), audio tech (sound operator)

Timeframe: Sunday mornings

Frequency: Monthly

Leader Name: Paulo Barros

Contact Info: Georgann Ellis, gellis@colonialkc.org, 816.501.3958